It Starts With A Blank Canvas- Textured Painting (Oil)


 

Blank Canvas , treated with  Absorbent Ground and texture.
Blank Canvas , treated with Absorbent Ground and texture.
14 X 18
14 X 18 Oil
14 X 18 Oil
14 X 18 Oil

I wanted to experiment with textured painting this week so I did several oil on canvas for this study……I  applied Gesso to my  canvas- two coats.  Since it’s a hot day it won’t take long before it dries.  I applied Absorbent Ground with a spatula making different types of moves on the canvas.   I applied this sort of thick so you could see the indention when it dried.. The Absorbent Ground is used to help the paint absorb better.  I waited for this to completely harden and dry before applying any paint. Since the Absorbent Ground works with acrylic paints,,, I am going to use waterable oils which are similar to acrylics in its thickness and drying…………

 

as I painted I applied the paint according to the way the texture had dried on the canvas. Once dried you can see the texture on the canvas….the painting is abstract but you can see different shapes, one being a ice cream cone and another the shape of a person, the rest I will allow for viewer imagination.

 

This painting is 14 X 18 Oil and can be purchased at http://chinue.imagekind.com/Smallartseries

We look forward to your comments, please like our page and follow us.

Author: chinuephillips58

Mixed Media Artist who loves Museums, Festivals and everything about the Artist world. Come travel with me on this journey of the artist.

2 thoughts on “It Starts With A Blank Canvas- Textured Painting (Oil)”

Comments are closed.