Notes, Sketchbook and Painting


I got a lot accomplished in April as I looked over my notes for the month.   Not only did I stay on course with my painting a day goal ,I also attended the stage play “The Convert”, went to the movies, met some new artist, went to some networking events and got invited to participate in  the Artist for Arthritis Fund Raiser Exhibit.  April seems to be a month which reflected my hopes for being in this career.   Now that we are in a new month (May) the goals start all over .  It’s kind of over cast and cold  so today we’ll be inside working on new ideas to paint.   Since I have moved my studio on the patio for the summer because I am back to using traditional oils and turpentine being outside works a lot better for the ventilation and drying process.  First I draw in my sketchbook whatever it is I ‘m going to paint . This gives me some idea on the direction I want to go. I may make changes once I start painting  but the foundation for the drawing with my notes are in my sketchbook .   This is one of the small works series  8 x 10,  Oil on Canvas. I used a lot of colors blended together.  Flesh Tint, Lemon Yellow, Burnt Sienna, Jaune Brilliant, Raw Umber, French Ultramarine, Alizarin Crimson, Payne Gray, Soft White, Medium Yellow and Cerulean Blue.  Most of the colors are blended with others  so they don’t show up as much.

You can always view more of our artwork at our  online gallery at  http://gallery.exhibbit.com/exhibition/9fb2609d-5973-4d21-836d-1bd207e1b55f/index.html.  Thank you to the new followers as well as the old ones  for your comments and all the Likes.   We love hearing from you so please feel free to comment,  like us and follow us on our journey with art.

Author: chinuephillips58

Mixed Media Artist who loves Museums, Festivals and everything about the Artist world. Come travel with me on this journey of the artist.