The Bird of Paradise As Art


I noticed even though it’s been cold and wet mother earth has bloomed some beautiful flowers for me to look at. The bird of paradise to me is a beautiful flower.  I remember growing up with them in the yard and how colorful they were to look at.  The long steam, which holds one flower the shape of a bird’s beak.  It stands tall and slim and even when it dies it stands tall and just turns brown but does not drop down.  You end up just cutting away the brown leafs.  When I cut these two one of them had not opened but the next morning it had. Although it was no longer in the ground but in a vase with some water it knew to continue its life cycle and open up. Notice the color palette of the flower. Bright yellow-orange , green, purple, maroon, white. There are so many beautiful colors to this one flower.  I started painting with these colors to see what I will come up with. We are the bird of paradise as art.

Author: chinuephillips58

Mixed Media Artist who loves Museums, Festivals and everything about the Artist world. Come travel with me on this journey of the artist.