The Holidays and Art


It’s December and I must say I have not done any art for about a month now. Instead of writers block I have canvas block.  I am trying to think of a new theme and designs and keep coming up blank.  I think the rush around of the holidays has my mind not focused on painting or drawing.  I often wonder why consumers get caught up in the holiday madness.  The crowded stores, people spending money they don’t have, rushing around, eating more than you have eaten all year, being stressed about a holiday which comes every year.

For the past few days I have just been being quiet. Not really thinking about anything, going for walks looking at nature.  Watching how the birds work to gather food, and build nest in the trees.  Not shopping or running around losing my mind with shopping but getting grounded so I can work on my art again.  The quiet time has been good for me giving my mind a place to go for peace.

I know my empty canvas will have something great on it whenever I do return to painting. Yes the holidays and art go together. They inter-twine with one another to find a place to fit with each other.  I would like to know your feeling about the holidays so please comment on this as well as any other post we have made. We would like to know what you think and feel about our art so please leave a comment.  Please follow my blog so you can know what I’m up to.

Author: chinuephillips58

Mixed Media Artist who loves Museums, Festivals and everything about the Artist world. Come travel with me on this journey of the artist.